I thought I’d go ahead and put this out there and if even one person reads it and it makes their journey smoother then that’ll be wonderful.  Actually, if no one surfs away from these words, taking anything from them…..then at least I know I put them out there with the best of intentions.

Okay, so here goes!

My Dad was diagnosed with lung cancer many years ago and given only three months to live.  Long story short, I was too young to lose my Dad at that time and I was scared beyond belief.  Everyone else in my family had just taken what a doctor diagnosed and did nothing more but doing what that doctor advised for treatment.

I realize that there are so many other people out there who do the exact same thing but I just don’t understand how you can sit back regarding your life!

Anyway, that’s when my journey got VERY bumpy because it was me against the rest of my family who didn’t understand alternative treatments and the power of the immune system when strengthened.

Here’s what I did:  I found Essiac Tea on the internet and ordered it immediately.  I chose the one out of Crestone, Colorado because they have the authentic recipe from the nurse who created the herb combination.  I was working against the clock so I got the pre-made bottles  for my Dad to take until I could get all the supplies to make the homemade version. 

Then, I did non-stop research on what will strengthen the immune systemMy Dad continued his chemo while taking the Essiac, some IP6, Co-Q10, multi-vitamins and some stuff called MGN-3.  All I have to say is thank goodness we were also best friends and he knew how deep I research things!  He was taking a bunch of chemical pills along with chemo to kill his immune system so he didn’t want to take all the immune boosters.  It tested our friendship at the worst possible time.

I wish I could say I thought positive thoughts through this whole initial ordeal but I was surrounded by negativity.  That negativity was also trying to talk my Dad out of taking the things that were his only hope of healing him.  I had done my research and knew there was absolutely NO danger of mixing his meds with these immune boosters but yet there was constant fights and struggles.  There were times when my Dad would just tell others he wasn’t taking the immune boosters just for a little peace!

But that was a lesson learned for me, even though I didn’t realize it at the time.  I just thought I was dealing with a bunch of ignorant, stupid people while I was trying to keep my Dad alive.

So, even though I WAS staying positive by having hope and helping my Dad fight until the very end, I also walked around in constant fear and anxiety.  Every time  I drove home from work or school, I wondered what I would come home to.  Who did my Dad talk to while I was gone and did it send him into a depression while he was trying to heal?

I’m not trying to bash my family. My point in writing about this journey in healing is that it’s not just my family who reacts this way when encountering something as serious as cancer.  There are people who just accept things they are told and live with it even though they don’t want to.  I can’t count the number of times I’ve told someone about Essiac tea and IP6 and they have chosen not to take it or tell a family member battling cancer about the benefits. 

There have also been times when I’ve told people and they have been very receptive and appreciative for the input.

Long story shorter, my Dad dug himself out of the hole and lived to see ten plus years of sunshine and flowers.  The Essiac was cut off and it was still a battle to get him to take the IP6 during those years but that was another lesson learned. 

I learned that I can’t force a person to do something they don’t fully believe in.  A lot of time had passed since he was called “The Miracle Man” by his doctor’s when he went into remission three months after diagnoses instead of into the ground.

And he was old.  I’ve had the pleasure of being born to older parents who have shared so much of their wisdom with me regarding life and people so yes, we were able to talk and know when it was time to step back.

Long story shortest, I took the final step back and moved to another state.  A year later with barely any immune boosters the cancer came back and pretty much only chemo and pain pills were taken.  The end came fast but we were all prepared.  It’s a fight…..a definite fight but one worth fighting.  And I think( if it makes anyone feel better), that a person knows when they are done fighting and at that point, they will be at peace with it.

Cancer continues to be such a mysterious disease to so many that I personally think it’s worth trying as much as possible as long as it’s been proven to not be dangerous.  There are alternative treatments out there that are risky but it’s all a matter of choice. 

One last thing to end with that I have to add in there!

Liquid stabilized oxygen has been found to be very beneficial for killing cancer.  The more oxygen you have in your bloodstream, the less cancer can survive.  See?  I can’t stop researching and having hope for other people.  The journey never really ends once it begins.  🙂

This might not have been the most organized or well written post but hopefully it helped someone.  If anyone has any questions, please feel free to contact me:  thestarlightwriter@yahoo.com

